So, I’ve had a pretty bad week. I’m not going to go into it here, but let’s just say it sucked. A lot.

Fortunately for me, a new yarn store just opened up near me. So I decided to check it out and buy myself some yarn.

I’m still committed to de-stashing (No, really, I am) but I thought maybe some nice sock yarn would help cheer me up.

Sadly, they don’t have much in the way of sock yarn, and it’s in the muted plain color variety rather than the bright and pretty kind. So..no sock yarn.

But they have Noro.

I’ve avoided Noro up until now. I made a pair of wristwarmers from Kureyon, but that’s it. Kureyon? Pretty, but not in a college student budget. So, since I am now someone with a Real Job, I figured I would splurge on a book and yarn.

I’ve been eyeing Butterfly for sometime now, and that happened to be the Noro book she had in stock. So I merrily bought the book and some yarn in the new 214 colorway, which on the outside was full of lovely rust, Autumn colors (Since I have been accused of–or at least questioned about–only knitting sweaters in one color family.) and trotted home.

As I was working up the first skein, I quickly realized two things. 1) I had misread and underestimated my yarn by half, and 2) there was a bit of green, pink, and blue hidden in the middle of the skein that I didn’t particularly love.

After much debating, I think I’m going to return the remaining skeins and exchange them for another colorway I had been considering (if she has enough in stock) or just return them and order online, if I need to. I can’t return the half knitted skein, naturally, so I think I’ll make the Kureyon Kozy from Knitty.

So, not a complete disaster, but I do feel kind of dumb.