So, I love Top Chef. To a degree that is probably slightly unhealthy. The only problem is, every time I watch I get inspired to try to cook things I’ve never cooked (or even eaten) before.

Like souffle.

This week, however, the desire to cook new things dovetailed nicely with the fact that I’ve signed up for a CSA program and am getting weekly deliveries of more vegetables than I know what to do with.

So Saturday night I whipped up some spinach souffles:

Spinach Souffle

Aren’t they pretty?

Souffles

But souffle isn’t enough, so I also made some carrot ginger soup to go with them.

Spinach Souffle with Carrot Ginger Soup

Overall, it turned out pretty well–the souffles puffed up and turned a lovely golden brown color, and the soup was decent. It was more savory than other carrot ginger soups I’ve had, so I think I’ll try a different recipe next time.