So, um, I have a confession to make. I’ve been knitting for quite some time now and, well, I have a little secret.

I don’t block things.

I know you’re supposed to, I know it evens out the stitches and makes the final result so much better, but I can really think of so many things I’d rather do with my time then painstakingly pin out my knitting. Not to mention, sometimes it’s hard to ifnd a cat-free space that’s big enough to pin out my knitting.

But this weekend, I found myself faced with two unavoidable facts. One, that my Lace Ribbon Scarf needed to be blocked to be wearable and two, that sweaters do eventually need to be washed. (Before you go thinking I’m some dirty, unwashed urchin, I’m sensitive to wool and never wear sweaters without a shirt underneath so they don’t need to be washed as frequently as something worn next to my skin.)

So, I bit the bullet. I spread out a bunch of towels and soaked my knitting. I admit I was a little startled by how heavy and stretchy the wet sweaters were; I blocked them back into shape (I hope; I think by now you can all guess that I wasn’t about to sit there with a measuring tape and schematics.) and pinned them out to dry.

Everything’s looking pretty good, but still damp. Not that it matters, since we’re having a freakish November heat wave, and it’s not really sweater weather, but I was hoping to wear the scarf. Maybe tomorrow! In the meantime, I’ll just pat myself on the back and be proud of my successful adventures in blocking.

Tarot Card of the Day: Nine of Swords