I’m not sure what it is about socks that makes them so much more addictive than other knitting, but I just can’t seem to stop knitting them! I’m a little embarrassed to admit this, but I have over 70 sock patterns queued on Ravelry…and I keep finding more.

It’s possible that I  may have a small sock problem.

Anyway, I finished up a pair of socks over the holidays (photos to come) so naturally, I decided to completely forget about my goal to reduce my number of half-finished, hibernating projects, and immediately cast on for a new pair.

Fawkes Socks

(Please ignore the cat hair. It’s everywhere, no matter what I do or how often I clean.)

These are Fawkes, knit with some Gryffindor  yarn from Etsy. The yarn was a gift, so I don’t know who the seller was, but it’s fantastic yarn.  I’ve gotten a little farther on this one, and it’s a little short in the leg; I probably should have added a couple more repeats of the leg pattern.

Noro Commuter Sock

I also dug my Noro commuter socks out of hiding. I can really only work on plain vanilla socks on my commute, since I have to change trains and I  need to have something I can pick up and put down without worrying where I am. It’s a good place to work with varigated or self-patterning yarn, though, since those usually look best as plain vanilla socks.

I’m resisting the urge to dig more sock yarn out of my stash and cast on for something else….after all, two socks isn’t really overkill, is it?

Tarot Card of the Day: Nine of Cups